Equity Gap marks the finale of its 10th Anniversary Celebrations with Awards

Equity Gap marks the finale of its 10th Anniversary Celebrations with Awards

Marking the culmination of its 10th anniversary year, Equity Gap held a virtual celebration and awards evening hosted by directors Jock Millican and Fraser Lusty.

Among the attendees were Equity Gap investor members, founders of portfolio companies and industry partners. Speakers included Kerry Sharp of the Scottish Investment Bank, David Grahame of LINC Scotland, Jenny Tooth of UKBAA, Ken Long of Wright Johnston McKenzie LLP and special guest Kate Forbes, MSP, the Cabinet Secretary for Finance of The Scottish Government.

All shared their best wishes for Equity Gap’s continued success, while Ms Forbes and Ms Sharp both highlighted the importance of public and private sector collaboration in providing the patient capital to support Scotland’s economic ambitions.

The celebration recognised the importance of relationships across the Equity Gap network and the value angel investors create by sharing their knowledge and experience to support early stage companies.

A highlight of the evening was the introduction of Equity Gap’s first portfolio awards which acknowledged the fortitude and resilience shown by all portfolio companies in rising to the challenges of 2020.

Company winners and finalists were:

New Company of the Year

Winner: Amiqus

Finalists: Boundary, MIME Technologies, Trojan Energy

Company Performance through Lockdown

Winner: Appointedd

Finalists: Bellfield Brewery, Mallzee, Qikserve

Company of the Year

Winner: Shot Scope

Finalists: Flavourly, Sunamp

The nominees and winners were warmly recognised and congratulated by attendees throughout the evening. Fraser Lusty commented: “In what has been a busy yet tumultuous year, it was important for us to reflect on the outstanding efforts of our portfolio companies.”